Enes Kanter Named Recipient of the 2020-21 Maurice Lucas Award

Team’s Annual Recognition Given to Player Who Best Exemplifies the Spirit of Lucas

PORTLAND, Ore. (May 28, 2021) – Portland Trail Blazers center Enes Kanter has won the team’s Maurice Lucas Award for 2020-21. Inaugurated in 2010-11, the award honors “the Trail Blazers player who best represents the indomitable spirit of Maurice Lucas through his contributions on the court and in the community, as well as in support of his teammates and the organization.” 

Kanter was presented with the award prior to Game 3 of the Blazers’ playoffs series with the Denver Nuggets. The Blazers will make a $5,000 donation to the Turkish Cultural Center on behalf of Kanter.

“It is my great honor to present the 2021 Maurice Lucas Award to Enes Kanter, a player whose values include a strong faith, family, teammates and community,” said Pam Lucas, widow of Maurice Lucas and a member and co-founder of the Maurice Lucas Foundation board. “The spirit and leadership that Enes embraces is the same as my husband inspired, which makes him an ideal choice for this honor.”

“Enes is the consummate teammate,” said Neil Olshey, Trail Blazers President of Basketball Operations. “The energy, toughness and selflessness with which he approaches the game make him an ideal recipient of the Maurice Lucas award.”

“This award is extremely special to our team and organization, and Enes embodies its meaning perfectly,” said Chris McGowan, President & CEO of the Trail Blazers and Rose Quarter. “Enes contributes positively both on and off the court, adding to the well-established team culture that we strive for, just as Maurice Lucas did as a Trail Blazer.”

Read Full Story at NBA.com >

Read Story at Blazers Edge >


2020-21 – Enes Kanter
2019-20 – Carmelo Anthony
2018-19 – Jusuf Nurkic
2017-18 – Evan Turner
2016-17 – Al-Farouq Aminu
2015-16 – Ed Davis
2014-15 – LaMarcus Aldridge
2013-14 – Robin Lopez
2012-13 – Damian Lillard
2011-12 – Wesley Matthews
2010-11 – LaMarcus Aldridge

About the Maurice Lucas Foundation

The Foundation is named in honor of the late Maurice Lucas (1952-2010), the leading scorer on the 1977 NBA champion Trail Blazers team. Besides his outstanding achievements on the court, Lucas also selflessly gave his time and energy to Portland youth. Since its formation in 2010, the Maurice Lucas Foundation has served thousands of students and families through its Academy program, basketball camps and teams.

Posted in