2022 Enforcer Award Recipient – Brian Grant

The Maurice Lucas Foundation Enforcer Award is presented every year to a person who best embodies many of the characteristics that Maurice Lucas displayed both on and off the basketball court, including how he motivated and empowered kids. The Maurice Lucas Foundation is proud to present this year’s Enforcer Award to Brian Grant. 

Brian Grant

brian grantBrian Grant attended Xavier University in Cincinnati, Ohio, where he received a Bachelor of Arts degree in organizational communications. He was an NBA idol, known for tenacious rebounding and a fearless attitude on the court. During his 12 year career, he played for five teams and became a strong contributor to his surrounding communities. Today, Brian continues to inspire as a speaker, philanthropist, and a patient who insists on thriving with Parkinson’s disease. His mission is to help people become their best, even when it seems impossible. 

Brian started his career at Xavier University where he was Player of the Year twice for the Midwestern Collegiate Conference. He was drafted in the first round, eighth overall, in the 1994 NBA draft by the Sacramento Kings. His career continued with the Portland Trail Blazers, Miami Heat, Los Angeles Lakers, and Phoenix Suns. During this time, Brian also served underprivileged youth and sick families in his community. His contributions earned him the J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award. 

Brian sat on the Maurice Lucas Foundation board from 2010-2013 and has been involved since inception. He now is on the Ambassadors board where he continues to show his support. He gives his time to participate in large events every year. He has not only been a friend of the foundation but has become like family. 


Past Enforcer Award Recipients


  • Enforcer Award 2011 Bill Russell
  • Enforcer Award 2012 Nate McMillian
  • Enforcer Award 2013 Bill Walton
  • Enforcer Award 2014 Lionel Hollins
  • Enforcer Award 2015 Bill “Rip City” Schonely
  • Enforcer Award 2016 Sonny Hill
  • Enforcer Award 2017 Larry Miller
  • Enforcer Award 2018 Bobby Gross
  • Enforcer Award 2019 Howard Hedinger
  • Enforcer Award 2020 Howard White
  • Enforcer Award 2021 Monty Williams
  • Enforcer Award 2022 Brian Grant

About the Maurice Lucas Foundation

The Foundation is named in honor of the late Maurice Lucas (1952-2010), the leading scorer on the 1977 NBA champion Trail Blazers team. Besides his outstanding achievements on the court, Lucas also selflessly gave his time and energy to Portland youth. Since its formation in 2010, the Maurice Lucas Foundation has served thousands of students and families through its Academy program, basketball camps and teams.

Posted in